Bread of Life

Bread of Life

Being in recovery from an eating disorder has caused me to depend on the Lord in more ways than I had ever imagined necessary.
I often look to this verse for encouragement when I am struggling.
“I am the the bread of life. Whoever comes to me will never go hungry, and whoever believes in me will never be thirsty.” (John 6:35)
The verse speaks for itself.
John 6:27 says: “Do not labor for the food that perishes, but for the food that endures to eternal life, which the Son of Man will give to you.”
Jesus provides us with something far greater than can ever be acquired from ANYTHING of this world – that includes food or any other material thing. Therefore, He deserves the highest of praise, and nothing else can come before Him.

For those of you who may be going through recovery as well, ask yourself this:
Is that plate of food going to define who you are as a person?
Is this meal going to give you anything more than temporary satisfaction or energy?
What are you truly thirsty/hungry for?

Jesus is THE source of life. He is THE way, THE truth, and THE life. He gives us value. He gives us worth. And it is because of Him that we can have eternal life.

3 thoughts on “Bread of Life

  1. I carried a void in my spirit all my life. Tried to fill it. What I realised after a very powerful experience, is my void needed to be filled by God. xx

Leave a Reply

