everlasting mercy

Today is a new day!

I am renewed.  Refreshed.  RESCUED.

lamentations-3-22-23

Lamentations 3:22-23 (HCSB):  “Because of the Lord’s faithful love we do not perish, for His mercies never end.  They are new every morning; great is Your faithfulness!”

There are many reasons I love this passage of scripture, and today, it has given me the strength I need to persevere.  As I study these verses, I am reminded of the importance not only of mourning over our sin but of asking the Lord for His forgiveness when we fail Him.

There is nothing I can do about my past, and I must embrace the PRESENT.  Time to put any shame, guilt, or hopelessness I have behind me and look towards the everlasting mercy I have in my Savior, Jesus Christ.

We are washed clean of our sins daily and must press on knowing that He will love us no matter how filthy and broken we are.  That does not grant us permission to lead a life that is constantly going astray; but it gives us encouragement that when we do make a wrong turn, God will direct us back onto the straight and narrow.

Jesus, grant us peace.

Leave a Reply

