Religion says DO; Jesus says DONE

I love this video so much.  It so easy for us, as Christians, to get caught up in the legalities of religion.  I know I often make decisions or act on what I think is “right” instead of taking a step back and asking God for guidance.  I forget that, in the light of God’s grace and mercy, no matter what or how many “good” things I do, I will never be deserving of the gift He has given me in eternal life.  BUT, there is also no amount of “wrong” things I can (and will) do to separate me from His love.

Ok, confession time…  Lately, I have been struggling to find my passion and inspiration for writing, which is strange because I have never really had a problem with it.  I find myself feeling flat and, frankly, apathetic.  But I think it may be from the stress of this semester; it’s finally made me kind of numb to everything.  I tend to block things out rather than confront them, and I get so wrapped up in worrying about things that I never get around to accomplishing anything!  I think it might be a procrastination mechanism, to be honest.  But I have recently had a wake up call.  After making a couple of bad (and when I say bad, I mean the worst I have ever received) grades on assignments this past week, I know that I can’t keep running.  I can’t keep hiding.  I have to face reality with confidence, for I have not received a spirit of fear but one of POWER (2 Tim. 1:7).  But it’s not just from school that I hide myself.  It’s life in general.  My recovery, anxiety, guilt, the list goes on…  Sometimes I feel that I have messed up so much already, that there is no turning back.  But that is not who I am!  I am filled with the joy that comes only from my Heavenly Father.  His love casts out all fear (1 John 4:18); it is perfect, infinite, and unwavering.

“When the disciples heard this, they were utterly astonished and asked, “Then who can be saved?”  But Jesus looked at them and said, “With men this is impossible,

but with God all things are possible.”

Matthew 19:25-26 HCSB

Praise the Lord for His grace and mercy.  I am so unworthy; yet, He loved me enough to send His SON as a sacrifice for my sins.  Jesus took on the weight of my transgressions, bore them on the cross, was separated from His own Father, laid in a tomb, but ROSE AGAIN.  He DEFEATED death.  For me.  For YOU!  That’s why there is nothing that we can DO that will earn us salvation.  God has given it to us freely; all we have to do is reach out and take it. ❤

Leave a Reply

